Tags

There is a lot of research on gratitude, and I am sure that I will touch upon some of that at some point on this blog.  In the meantime, most Fridays I will participate in “High Five for Friday” because it is a great way of reflecting over the past week.

Here are the people, animals, events and things that I am grateful for this week:

1.  My dog Madison

Like all dog owners, I think my dog is the cutest dog on earth.  She is a very beautiful dog.  She loves to sun bathe and when I write my blog posts outside on our back patio, she will always join me.

IMG_1140

This week, Madison has also been helping me with my morning routine by making sure I am awake 5-10 minutes before my alarm goes off.  This, however, is not as cute.

2.  My Monthly Book club

We’re reading the book, “Half-broke Horses” this month and we’re meeting tonight to talk about it.  I could go on and on about this group of ladies and all their amazing qualities.  This group met and instantaneously bonded in an authentic, rich, deep, vulnerable and real way.  We laugh, we cry, we vent, we eat amazing food (each time we meet we have a potluck), and most of all, these women remind me that I am loved.  Thanks, ladies!

3.  My Friend, Arisa

IMG_1154

This is a picture of a space at my church that my friend, Arisa, decorated.  I’m pretty sure that this woman can create/decorate anything – and she won’t have to purchase anything expensive.  She has a heart for inclusion.  She creates spaces in her life to include others – whether that be leading “Old School” with her equally amazing husband at church, hosting a party, or updating/decorating a literal space or room to be more inviting.  She’s beautiful inside and out and I am thankful to call her a friend.

4.  My monthly favorites video

IMG_1155

This was my first video and it was fun and vulnerable to produce.  I look and sound good because my husband edited the video.  He is amazing!  It’s something that we can do together – and with both of us being so busy, it’s fun to have something amongst the busy-ness that we do together.

5.  PSYC 142: General Psychology

logo

I teach a psychology class for Vincennes University.  This last group of students that I had were really great students.  They engaged in the material, they worked hard, many were Freshman who hadn’t been in school for years, but they’re military members with a lot of life experience to bring to the table.  They weren’t afraid to share with each other.  They weren’t afraid to share their experience of the class with me.  I truly love teaching the introductory class as it can be focused both on learning the material and on giving students an experience of being a mature student.

 

 photo H54Fbutton_zps973d26e1.png

