Tags

, , , , , ,

As I mentioned on Friday, I was reading and I have now finished a wonderful book called “The Rosie Project”.

9781611739275_p0_v1_s260x420

The book tells a love story from the perspective of a tenured genetics professor who is himself on the Autism spectrum, though has not been diagnosed as such.

About two days after I started the book, I serendipitously ended up watching the following Ted talk:

 

One thing I love about this book and the video is that they both discuss what it means to be “normal”.  The book is written from the perspective of the main character, Don, who is a very high functioning gentleman with Aspergers.  His perspective is thus the “normative lens” from which the story is told.  Don is very aware of what has made him “odd” to others.  Yet, he has learned how he functions best and that is his normal.  I love when Temple Grandin says that she realized that not everyone thinks in pictures.  We call the discussion or thoughts in our head “thinking”.  Therefore, whatever way you do that is what the word “thinking” has come to mean for you.  That is your “normal”.  It is an interesting thing when I learn that the way I do something that seems normal, such as thinking, is different from how other people do it.

The book, “The Rosie Project,” is a beautifully written love story.  I’ve been explaining it to my friends and family as a story that walks the line between reality and “Hollywood”.  Things that happen are sometimes a little over-the-top but in a very enjoyable way.

This is a story that provides a lot of insight for those of us who do not live on the Autism spectrum.  Even if the specific storyline may not be 100% plausible, the perspective shared will give anyone pause to think about how they will interact or treat the next person they meet who is on the Autism spectrum.

Do you know anyone who has Asperger’s syndrome?  Do you know anyone who is on the Autism spectrum?

