Tags

,

picture

 

A Conundrum of Cooking and Blogging:

One of my favorite creative outlets is cooking.  I love finding and trying out new recipes.  I love feeling like a “Master of the Kitchen”.  My favorite is when my husband is willing to be the sous chef who does most of the chopping.  When that happens, I get to feel like Julia Childs or Martha Stewart in the kitchen.  The ingredients just “magically” appear in the bowls and I can just focus on the stove or oven.

I love finding new recipes on different blogs, in cookbooks, and on pinterest.  I love finding and adapting recipes.

You’ll often hear me say,  “If the food is good – it was the recipe mixed with my love; if the food was bad – it was totally the recipe’s fault”.

Since I love to find recipes to cook, when I originally envisioned this post I thought I was going to provide you all with amazing places to go and find recipes.  As I went to type the post, however, I was filled with a sense of dread.  No, it wasn’t writer’s block.  It was anxiety.  I realized that I have a fear of sending you to a cooking blog that could promote unhealthy food.  There are so many diets out there these days – both of the fad and of the lifestyle varieties.  It seems that everyone I know who has an educated opinion on what one should eat has a slightly different option from other highly educated options.

See, one of my goals in the “Willpower Routine” is to lose weight.  That is why I have two mornings devoted to working out.  I figure the plan will ensure that I’m working out at least twice a week and, with any luck, I’ll work out at least one evening or on the weekend (preferably both).  My focus is not as much on the weight as it is on how my clothes fit and how I feel when I look in the mirror or see myself in pictures.  No matter what, though, I know that along with working out, I need to at least be aware of the calories and nutrients in the food I am eating.

I haven’t decided yet which lifestyle diet I think will be best for me to follow.  Until I do, I don’t feel comfortable promoting food blogs.

What I do know, however, is that I’m still going to cook.

How do you decide what you’re going to eat each week?  Do you have a diet that you follow?  What is your favorite food blog?

