Tags

, , ,

For this week’s activity, I would like you to set aside 10 minutes to do one of the following journal prompts.  Grab a piece of paper and a pen or open a word document, set your timer for 10 minutes, and just write – don’t worry about grammar, don’t worry about a coherent story coming out, just write whatever comes to mind and don’t let the voices of judgement start to question the validity of anything you are writing.  I like to call this word-vomit.  Just force yourself to write for 10 minutes.

The glory of 10 minutes is that we can all take 10 minutes.  If you’re working an eight-hour day or longer (whether at home or at work), you’re almost mandated by the laws that govern the work place to be taking at least two 10 minute breaks and a 30 minute break each day.  These do not count bathroom breaks.  I know I often don’t take them because I fear they will interrupt my flow or that they don’t add value to my day.  Therefore, plan on doing this during your break because you know it will add value to your day.  I promise, I will do the same.

Use one of those breaks to write about one of the following:

1.  I, (insert your name here), am happiest/most content/extremely grateful with my work-life when ….

2.  I, (insert your name here), am happiest/most content/extremely grateful with my home-life when ….

3.  I, (insert your name here), am happiest/most content/extremely grateful with my body when ….

4.  I, (insert your name here), am happiest/most content/extremely grateful with my friends when ….

5.  I, (insert your name here), am happiest/most content/extremely grateful with my relationship with God/Creator when …

When your 10 minutes are up, save what you wrote.  I encourage you not to read what you wrote at this time.

If you can, I encourage you to take the next work week and write about one of these each day.

Happy journaling!

 

