All of my life, I have been sensitive to inclusion.  What I mean by this is that, when in groups, I am always looking for the person who is not being included in the group.  When I was younger, this was usually the kid who didn’t want to play the game and would stand by the fence and pick flowers or throw rocks.  I would often go to this person and encourage them to play.  More often than not, however, I couldn’t get them to want to play the game so I would just hang out with them and pick flowers or throw rocks.

When I got older, this meant that I would always try to make sure that all of my friends were getting along.  I was always that annoying person that was trying to get everyone to do the same activity.  Of course, if we split up, I always made sure that no one was doing whatever they wanted to do alone.

Therefore, to specify that this blog has a certain group of people in mind gives me a small panic attack.  I don’t want anyone to feel excluded from this blog.  I hope that anyone with an interest of learning more about  him/her self will be able to come to this site and gain tools necessary to start on a path towards personal insight.

That being said, I have to be honest with you.  As I am writing this blog, I am thinking specifically about a long over-looked but often almost idolized group of people – pastors.  Pastors are a group of people, much like medical professionals, who are often expected to be healthy individuals and teach others how to be spiritually and emotionally healthy.  The pastors I know and have gone to school with work tirelessly to do just that every day for their congregants.  Like most of us, however, they often find it easier to help others and focus on themselves last.  They give and they give and they give and they find that giving so rewarding that they forget that they may need to take time out for themselves.

This is also a group that, again like medical professionals, has studied and knows what to do to take care of one’s self.  They will tell others to pray, to journal, to take a vacation, to eat better, to work out, etc.  And, I believe, they have every intention of doing so themselves.  Many, however, don’t or they aren’t able to do enough.  They’ll have a million reasons for why not – some valid, some not-so-much  (Don’t we all?).

So pastors, I am calling you out.  But, I’m not going to stop there.  This website is for you.  It’s to inspire you to take care of yourself.  This means that I have to own that I will have a spiritual bent or leaning in a lot of my writing.  This means that if you are a pastor, by any sense of the word, and you’re looking for something specific – please let me know.  I will do my best to speak to that specificity.  I hope this can be a place where you can come and you can send your parishioners here for guidance, ideas, love, and most of all – acceptance.

