Tags

,

list.2

How Journaling Helps People Make more Rational Decisions or be More Organized

People report that they feel better, do better work, have more fulfilling friendships, etc after journaling.  Specifically, people say that journaling is helpful in the following ways:

d.  helps rationalize

This week I want to talk about how journaling can help you make more rational decisions and be more organized.

Being Organized

Let’s start with the organizational aspects of journaling.  Many people don’t think of the many lists they make each day as a form of journaling, but I do.  If you (and your family) keep a calendar of where you have to be when on any given day, this is a form a journaling.  Go back and look at your calendar.  Look at a random dates, what is on the calendar for that date?  Can you recall that event?  Maybe it was just work, maybe it was a conference?  Maybe it was your son’s football game?

I love lists because it feels so much faster than writing full sentences.  I will often write my goals in list form – it just makes it seem easier.  I will also write what I am grateful for in list form.  I don’t have to write “I am grateful for … ” in front of each item.  It’s a gratitude journal, isn’t that just to be assumed?

I love lists because I can cross off or check mark the items when they’re done and I can feel accomplished.

I love lists because they help me remember each item or thing that I need.  If the lists is in my head, sometimes something is forgotten.

I love making lists in the notes app on my phone because then the lists appear on my computer or my iPads automatically.

Being Rational

Journaling also helps people make more rational decisions.

This works through two means:

1.  Journaling makes you slow down and take some time to think about whatever it is that has you worked up or has you questioning your next decision.

2.  When you read what you wrote, you start to look at your emotions as though you are a “third party”.  This means you experience something that just a few minutes ago felt really emotionally charged as though you are now a third “neutral” party.  This neutrality allows you to make decisions that are informed by but not necessarily motivated solely by your emotions.

So this week, whenever you update a calendar or make a list – you can consider yourself a person who journals.  Whenever you have a hard decision to make, take just a few minutes and write the pros and cons.  Then read what you wrote.  Then, make your decision.  If you’re still feeling insecure – journal some more.

