This is the fourth week in a series about the multitude of “selves” that come together to create the person people know as “Megan Fackenthal”.  For more information on the general idea of this, please click here.

This week, I’m talking about “The God within” or “the God-self”.

This aspect of the self is the hardest to explain and understand.   One way to understand it is the Hindu greeting “Namaste”.  This word can be translated to mean “the God in me greets the God in you”.

I believe that God works through people.  For a more philosophical understanding of how this works, I encourage you to jump over to this post written by my husband to read how God “insists” towards to the world.

While usually I believe that God works through me to reach out to other people, when I’m journaling I think God can work through me to help me.

I can tell that my God self has been influencing my writing because I’ll usually start the journaling writing about how mad I am at someone and I will end the journal by writing about all the wonderful things about that person.

I can tell that my God self has been influencing my writing because I’ll be able to show myself grace in my writing.  It’s the God self that allows me to shower grace upon that part of myself that will act like a martyr and take all the blame.  It’s the God self that allows me to shower grace upon myself when I make a mistake or be proud when I am able to do something well.

I’ll often times be quite surprised when I read what I wrote when I’m writing with my God self.

I’ll often times get new meaning out of a journal post when I am able to read what I wrote with my God self.

I’m not saying that every revelational thought that comes through journaling is a part of my God self.  The God self cannot be controlled.  However, I believe that through journaling, through learning ever more about myself,  I can become more open to sensing when the God self is trying to tell me something or show me something.

Namaste.

