This is my fifth and final post that will describe the multitude of selves that come together to create the person that people know as Megan Fackenthal.  This week, I am going to discuss the final selves that I mentioned in my original post:

– My friend self
– My school self
– My pessimistic self

I’m discussing these aspects of my self all in one post because my description of each of these three is going to start to highlight how these aspects of my self are part of an integrated whole.

My friend self has a lot of similar attributes to my wife self.  It’s protective of my friends, must as my wife self is protective of my husband.   If a friend of mine is in pain, I experience pain.  If a friend of mine is experiencing joy, I experience joy.

My school self has a lot of similar attributes to my work self.  Many of the standards I describe in my work self are in my school self.  While I am no longer a “student” in the traditional sense of attending classes where I have paid for a teacher to impart their knowledge to me, I will always be a student.  I love learning.  I have articles and books piled on my dresser for me to read about the philosophy of the self.  I look forward to how those will appear on this blog.

My pessimistic self is similar to my perfectionism self.  This aspect of the self is very easy to notice in my writing as it comes out in sarcasm or negativity in my journaling.

Even though there are a lot of similarities in the different aspects of my self, I find it helpful to be able to differentiate between them.  I also find it helpful to see where they overlap.  Here are a few things that this exercise/philosophical understanding on selfhood has helped me with:

1.  Some of the same stress-relieving techniques that worked for my school self also work for my work self.  I tried those techniques for my work self because I realized how many similarities those parts of my self had.
2.  If I’m struggling with something in life, I can try to intentionally write with one aspect of myself – whichever aspect that I think may provide the best guidance or most grace or just needs to outlet.
3.  Being able to differentiate the parts of myself also helps me see how I am an integrated whole.  It’s interesting to see how those parts of me come together.  I can analyze when I feel like a cohesive whole or when I feel fragmented.

Now it’s your turn.  What aspects of the self have you been able to describe?  Maybe you experience the self differently.  Either way, I’d love to hear from you.

