The act of journaling is an act of self-reflection.  This act of self-reflection alters your reality.  Thus, journaling is an act of reality-shaping.

This blog has discussed just a few of the “people” inside of you who combined create “you”.  This blog has asked you to start listing those people, describing them, determining their usefulness, their origins.  It has asked you to be intentional and mindful about naming and claiming the different parts of your “self”.

I’ve asked you to do this because journaling is a form of address.  Your existence is a little less precarious when you start to recognize the ways in which you have learned to address yourself and can start to make changes.

Here are two examples of how the ways in which we address ourselves play out in our lives:

Scenario 1) Most of us have a less-than-accurate-and-usually-just-mean inner self-critic.  If this voice is not recognized for what it is, it can be the voice that defines our existence.  Every negative thing that someone says becomes a confirmation of this voice.  Your boss critiques the way you handled a crisis = your self-critic is accurate.  Your child doesn’t listen when you say “no” = your inner-critic is accurate.  You forget to pick up the milk on your way home = your inner-critic is accurate.

Scenario 2) I have learned through my journaling that I often address myself as someone who is continually striving for progress.  I struggle with this form of address because, philosophically speaking, I see value in this type of address.  However, I have learned that if I’m not careful, this way of addressing myself can have negative effects.  This negative aspect looks a little like this:  When someone (usually my husband) points to one of my flaws (which could simply be a wrong answer on a trivia question), if I’ve been letting my focus on progress define me, then anything that questions that progress becomes “the enemy”.  My defenses go up and I snap at my husband.

In both of these scenarios, the form of address that we become accustomed to within ourselves becomes the way in which we interact with those around us.  This is how the way in which we address ourselves shapes our reality.

