In my last Monday post, I discussed one way that we share our own realities – through the use of the “self” that is guiding how we take in information.

This week, I want to talk about that same concept, but with a small shift.  I want to talk about trying to choose which “self” we use in a given situation.

Last Wednesday, I asked you to use a chart I created to catalog your different “selves”.  I asked you to catalog the pros and cons of each “self” and to say what situations you find you are most likely to find that “self” in use.

This week, I want to encourage you to journal about what would happen if you used a different “self” for one problematic area of your life.

Here’s an example from my life:  My work self is pretty darn good at money.  I don’t overspend on office supplies (which I happen to personally love).  I don’t buy cheaply made things, but I don’t spend on expensive item that probably aren’t of much higher quality than Maybe it’s that I see the money as belonging to someone else.  However, this has not often carried over to my home life.  In my home life, I often feel unable to handle my spending.  There are a lot of reasons for this, but when I started to think about applying my “work self” to my home life, I realized that I can control my spending.  I already do it in one aspect of my life.  It may not be as natural in my other “selves” but the capability lies within me.

So look at the graph you created last week.  Look at the pro and con lists.  Are there places where one self is a pro in the same arena that another self has difficulties?  If so, then you have already within you what you need to change some of the difficulties in your reality.

 

